Back To Top

About Polynesia

French Polynesia, is an Overseas Country of the Republic and an overseas collective governed by the French Constitution composed of five archipelagos comprising 118 islands, 76 of which are inhabited: the Society Archipelago with the Windward and Leeward Islands, the Tuamotu Archipelago, the Gambier Archipelago, the Austral Archipelago and the Marquesas Islands.

This territory represents 40% of the French marine domain with 5 million square kilometres. It is composed of several groups of islands and atolls, the largest and most populated of which is Tahiti.

The Tuamotu are an archipelago of French Polynesia located in the middle of the tropical Pacific Ocean. This vast group of  atolls, located east of Tahiti, extends over nearly 1,800 km. The inhabitants of the Tuamotu are the Pa’umotu, a word that also designates their language. Tuamotu means « motu of the open sea tua ».  

These coral crowns bordered by magnificent white sands, exuberant fauna and flora, picturesque villages and crystal clear waters with incredible shades of blue, have encouraged UNESCO to classify the Tuamotu as a World Heritage Site and Biosphere Reserve. This archipelago offers a wild and unspoiled vision of the Pacific.



Make a splash with WaveRide, designed for everyone passionate about all things surfing.

184 Main Collins Street Victoria 8007
Follow Us: